Shri K M Chandrasekhar is the Chairman of the Governing Body of the Centre. He had a distinguished career in public service, spanning more than half a century. He retired from the Indian Administrative Service in 2011, having spent 41 years in various assignments in the state Government of Kerala and the Government of India. The last four years of his career was at the apex level of Union Cabinet Secretary. He has wide experience in public administration and has worked in diverse areas including District administration, about sixty business enterprises in the public, private and joint sector, cooperatives, industry, finance, agriculture ,fisheries, marketing and many others.

He had diplomatic experience too, working for three years each as Deputy Chief of Mission in the Indian Embassy to Belgium, Luxembourg and the European Union at Brussels and as Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organisation at Geneva. His main areas of work and interest were public finance, where he worked at the highest level both in the State and in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India, and in international trade where he spent long years in the Ministry of Commerce, Government of India.

Chandrasekhar’s role in public service continued even after retirement. He was Vice Chairman of the Kerala State Planning Board with Cabinet rank and President of a prominent R&D institution. He has also been a member of several committees appointed by the Government of India and is presently elected chairman of a think tank and research institution affiliated to the Jawaharlal Nehru University, the Centre for Development Studies. He is also independent director on the Boards of seven private companies and was Chairman of a private scheduled bank. He has written extensively in several Indian periodicals and newspapers and has also undertaken assignments for the Commonwealth Secretariat and the Food and Agriculture Organisation. His memoirs are awaiting publication.

Former Chairmen

Dr.A.Ayyappan (1970)

Prof.George Jacob (1971-75)

Prof. P.V.Sukhatme (1975-78)

Prof. M.L.Dantwala (1979-80)

Prof.D.T.Lakdawala (1980-86)

Prof.Malcom Adiseshiah (1986-92)

Prof. N.R.Madhava Menon (2002-2009)

Prof. K.N.Raj (1992-98)

Dr.Bimal Jalan (2009-2015)

Prof. A.Vaidyanathan (1998-2002)